Vissi d'Arte

Vissi D’arte is the Saxofollia Quartet's homage to Italy and its magnificent musical tradition, reaching back over the centuries. The programme, which consists entirely of transcriptions, traces the history and development of the various genres, in a chronological sequence from the Baroque to the present day.

The concert opens with two composers who belong to the great 17th/18th century traditions: Vivaldi, a member of the Venetian school, composer of instrumental works and operas and inventor of the solo concerto and, perhaps unexpectedly, Bach, featuring his "Concerto in the Italian Style" to remind us that Italy was the musical point of reference for artists from throughout Europe and beyond for many years.

This is followed by two pieces with extracts from the operas of Giuseppe Verdi, Gioacchino Rossini and Giacomo Puccini, great names that helped to establish the world-famous association between Italy and grand opera.

Another very important area of Italian music consists of film scores, with the wonderful tunes of Oscar-winners Nino Rota, Ennio Morricone and Nicola Piovani. The concert closes by bringing together the saxophone's origins as a jazz instrument and Italian melody, with a homage to the great Bruno Martino and his “Estate”.

It is a varied programme, that draws on an assortment of musical genres, combining tradition and modernity, classical and modern music, with a focus on the excellent quality of Italian music-making today as expressed by Saxofollia.


A. Vivaldi - Concerto in La Maggiore

G. Rossini - Sinfonia from "Barbiere di Siviglia"

G. Verdi - Bohemienne from "Il Trovatore"

G. Puccini - Best of Giacomo Puccini

N. Rota - La dolce vita

E. Morricone - Promenade with Morricone (medley)

B. Martino - Estate