Danze, Pavane e Ouverture

Danze, Pavane and Ouverture is the outcome of a saxophone quartet's desire to play music by composers who never wrote for this instrument - perhaps for the simple reason that they never came across it.

The concert programme, which consists almost entirely of transcriptions, is a journey through the ages of the history of music, from the 16th to the 20th centuries, through the repertoire of the great composers, reworked and reinterpreted by the Saxofollia quartet.


W. Byrd Pavane for Earl Salisbury

M. Praetorius Brasle Gentil

A. Vivaldi Ouverture del Concerto in Fa Maggiore

J. S. Bach Concerto Italiano BWV 971 (I Mov.)

W. A. Mozart Eine Kleine Nachtmusik (I Mov.)

G. Rossini Rossinifollia (Medley from overtures)

F. Mendelsshon Capriccio Op. 81

J. B. Singelee Premier Quatuor (per quartetto di Saxofoni)

J. Francaix Petit Quatuor pour Saxophones